Writers Block or If you can’t say anything nice….

Welcome my Politically Unstable Friends,

As some of you may know, I have a pretty thick skin. Even so there are times when something breaks its way through and hits the soft fleshy goodness underneath.  More often than not I am able to shove things aside and move on but there comes a time when a man has to stand up for himself and today is that day.  Over the last couple of days I have held this off simply due to the fact that I was unable to keep my own emotions down long enough to write a coherent blog on the subject.

Why must a man be questioned on his faith if you disagree with his politics?  Over the course of the last several months I have been called a false prophet more times than I can count and it really starts to eat at a person.  I know in reality I should take pride in such a slur as the prophets of old were often slung through the mud and some were even killed for their teachings. Still there are times where I feel as if the majority care nothing for the truth and far prefer a series of nice sounding quotations that have little to do with reality in general.

Do I teach Christ’s doctrine? Yes, of course I do. No greater sacrifice has ever been given in the history of mankind and no other sacrifice could suffice for the remission of our sins. Christ, the Cross, and his Resurrection are tantamount in my pastoral teachings and my life.   Though I often fail as all of us do, I attempt to live my life in the service of my Lord as he has called me into.

Do I teach the Romans Road to Salvation? Once again, of course I do! Confess with your mouth the lord Jesus Christ and believe in your heart that God has Raised him from the dead, you will be saved! I would dare not teach any other doctrine than that of the Bible. The Bible is my guide and my source when it comes to all things that I teach upon in my church.

Do I love? I attempt to be as loving as possible.  I was a man born with a terrible temper and I have said many things throughout my life that were filled with hatred.  When I came to God I learned that while I had been using the God-given gift of boldness as a stumbling block for many, God had intended it to be used in his service.   Today I hate no one,  but that’s not to say that I like everyone.  Some people really know how to push my buttons and if there is one thing that really pushes my buttons it is hypocrisy.  When I hear people claim a love for Christ while spewing hatred I just cannot keep my mouth shut.

If you have a problem with me or any of my teachings please point out my fault. I am more than willing to discuss theology with you.  God says to touch not his anointed and do his Prophets no harm.  So when you call me a false prophet not only is it an insult but at the same time it saddens me and makes me feel pity for you.

This has been your politically unstable friend,

Pastor Matthew P Hullinger 

Leave a Reply

