Bureaucracy…..or How I learned to hate politics….

Welcome my politically unstable and probably less pissed off friends,

Its time once again to play Bureaucracy, otherwise known as Monopoly’s unpopular brother.  The key to understanding how to play the game is to realize that no one is going to win and everybody loses. The real skill when playing Bureaucracy is to create a rule set so convoluted that not even the simplest tasks can get done.  Probably though the most important rule of the game is when in doubt, claim you need to hold the vote until a later date and then hold your breath hoping that no one remembers the vote on  the date specified.

Maybe I’m getting a bit cynical but remember when you grew up being told how the government worked?  Now think of the first time you realized that government didn’t work the way you were told,  pretty crappy day huh?  Now I want you to realize something that they don’t want you to know. Government never works, not that they couldn’t work, or shouldn’t work, but that they just don’t work. Why? Simply because government at all levels have created a series of stumbling blocks that prevents anything at all from getting done.

For my “Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy” friends, our government has become the Vogons.  Our government is simply a large bunching group of disgusting slobs that pat each others backs and pander to the highest bidder. Even in the local government it is in no way about what you know or what you can do, it is 100% about who you know and what you can get them in return for their endorsements. Our governmental system is quickly becoming a failed experiment and yet it shouldn’t be that way. When created our founders sought to prevent such ridiculousness because they had seen exactly how intellectually empty the British style Parliament had been and wanted to steer clear of it.

To point out a simple issue that should have been easy to handle allow me to give you an example of the idiotic red tape even our city councils must adhere to.

The Local Maintenance man wanted to replace the lights in the park with a light that had a mesh screen around it which would make them much more difficult to break.  The cost difference was minimal and so the man said he would buy the bulbs sometime suring the next week.  Soon the council was buzzing, “You can’t do that they claimed.” When asked why, the council claimed they would need to vote on the new light bulbs at the next meeting before anyone could buy them.   The Maintenance man, clearly confused asked why they had to vote on it since a light bulb is a general repair and that has never been something which needed a vote. The council claimed that he had every right to buy the light bulbs, but that the mesh protective covering had to be voted upon.

Seriously, they had no problem with the bulb but since it had a protective mesh around the bulb they had to vote upon whether to begin using that type of bulb.  Unfortunately that wasn’t the dumbest statement I heard during the night.  We have become a nation that runs as quickly as a glacier making its way across a continent and the silt produced is from the bodies our nation steps upon in order to continue the status quo.

If you are looking for an example as to what goes through a mans mind when he visits a council meeting refer to the following video clip.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5hfYJsQAhl0

I HATE politics and yet this is the life I am thrown into. I have as long as I can remember followed the life philosophy of live and let live. As long as you don’t bother me, I won’t bother you. Unfortunately our current era has thrust myself and many other like minded people into the sunlight.  I have often compared myself to Shrek in the past and have claimed that I would have loved to stay in my swamp unfortunately they are trying to destroy my swamp and I must speak out.  Contrary to Shrek though the more time I spend in politics the less lovable I become and the more ogre-like I am forced into being.

Tonight I am a very angry man and am at a turning point. I have no idea what the future holds for me, but I know that I have reached the point where I am going to have to choose between sinking  or swimming. While I truly feel like giving up, I think I’m going to flail my arms around a bit, try to be as buoyant as possible, and learn to swim.  Regardless of what the future holds, the establishment which sit around basking in the glow of Bureaucracy had better take notice.   I’m sick and tired of watching our country go down the tubes while our leaders dance around on pedestals unaware of the real hardships of the people.  Patrick Henry is quoted as saying, “Give me Liberty, or give me DEATH!” Tonight I say, “Restore our liberty, or let this nation fall!”  Has our American experiment failed? I certainly hope not, I am proud to be an American, I still get teary eyed when I hear the National Anthem and see Old Glory waving, I love this country til it hurts. Unfortunately, when faced with the decision between despotism and the chance of Liberty springing out of the ashes of our once great Republic, I choose Liberty.

We’ve left our founders vision, we’ve trampled our rights, we’ve given away our freedoms, and we have insulted our God.  It is time for a change, it is time for Liberty to stand once more, and it is time to call out to God, repent for the sins of our nation, humble ourselves, and pray he gives us a second chance at this currently failing experiment.

 Now the Lord is that Spirit: and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is liberty.
(2 Corinthians 3:17 KJV)

This has been your politically unstable friend,
Matthew P Hullinger

Leave a Reply

